Stammer.

hi,
my name is
t- t- t- never
mind, swallow
the hesitation
clenching the p- p-
paper. deep breath.
tightly a little red
ball of n- n- n-
nervousness hangs
– mouth contorts but
no sound, breath caught –
i- i- i- i-
in my chest, i wonder
what they’re th- th- th-
fuck.
hide your face with the paper
fuck. you don’t do that. smile
warily, smile as if this is
n- n- n-
normal.
sounds are an enigma
and sometimes, i want
to s- s- say things, it’s the knowing,
the words just won’t
FUCKING COME OUT.
I know what I have to say
It’s just that they
won’t c-

c-

c- c-

come out proper
with a broken mouth and
hapless short breaths of
h- h-
helplessness, I
PUSH AND PUSH
AND IT ONLY GETS WORSE,
and then suddenly
a stream of smooth sentences
as if language were fluid and I
a boat with no friction gliding
gracefully over the words, as if
I were a m- m- m-
fuck.
master.
if only for a short while.

Leave a Reply

